NaNoWriMo Day 16

It was really late at night, I had just turned off the computer and was making my way towards the bathroom to get ready for bed. I mechanically flossed my teeth, washed my face, and walked to my bed while planning future events in my NaNo novel. I got as far as mapping out, mentally, what the next seven chapters will be like and curled into bed.

So I got into bed and this wave of thoughts just came crashing at me like all other nights shortly before falling asleep. I started thinking about labs, data analysis, exams, oranges, my NaNo novel, the upcoming program I have to write, oranges, apes, what to cook for tomorrow, how far the next vacation is, soy milk, a description I just wrote in the NaNo novel, papers and projects, and more oranges. I’m lying there, feeling the onset of alpha waves (in my case, I probably go straight to REM), then suddenly, this neuron in my brain sends an galvanizing impulse and I get this epiphany that tells me — I haven’t actually brushed my teeth! Once the realization hit, I started visualizing bacteria attacking my teeth and couldn’t pretend anymore and had to get up.

I’m taking it as a sign that I should start treating my protagonist better and stop complicating her life with ironies so we don’t suffer (from temporarily memory loss because we’re so overwhelmed), as much together.

It’s a little past the half way point for NaNoWriMo and my word count is no where near the half way marker. But somehow, some way, I’m going to get this novel done. Somehow.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 16”

  1. I experience the same thing before I fall asleep at night. Often, I tend to just see something, and where it comes from, I don’t know. Keep writing! As Chris Baty suggested in an earlier e-mail, shoot for 25,000 if 50,000 seems insurmountable. At least you’re getting some writing done, and that’s still ahead of the game.

Leave a Reply

