Monster, Stop Probing My Emotions!

The Three Frogs

Monster is, like coffee, an acquired taste. More specifically, black coffee. There’s nothing creamy or sugary about it, yet the delivery of ideas and the unfolding of twists have a bitter and intense precision to them that make the aftertaste thoughtful and unforgettable. It’s captivating in the most uncaptivating way, like the scent of coffee, slowly entices you and steals you away without you noticing. I don’t think I’ve ever used up that much tissue on any particular anime. Watching it is, definitely, emotionally exhausting.

Kenzo TamaNina

On a different note, the portrayal of Johann is surprisingly accurate in terms of pertaining to the clinical description of a sociopath. Additionally, Anime Keep did a really good job translating for this anime. The ending is terribly suspenseful and disturbing, but it ended well.

JohannJohannJohann

Here is a segment of one of my favorite parts of the anime. And, my favorite character, present to you, the Magnificent Steiner (!):

Grimmer

8 thoughts on “Monster, Stop Probing My Emotions!”

  1. WASN’T IT JUST BRILLIANT?

    Haha totally agree with the black coffee part. So THAT was the analogy I was looking for…

    The ending was definitely suspenseful, and the video you linked just made me want to watch Monster all over again! And I think I probably will, in the summer.. it’s one of those few, few animes that you can actually rewatch without getting bored.

    Oh and, you mean Johann? Forgetting an ‘h’ there? Jess the Spelling Nazi =P (Thanks for the pic of Marsden btw, why not throw in a picture of the handsome Johann while you’re at it? 😉 I really hope sociopaths in real life don’t look that adorable… )

  2. I was so insistent on that extra “n” in Johann’s name, I forgot the “h”! 😛 Thanks for pointing it out, it’s fixed!
    Now that I added more pictures from throughout the anime, I wonder if that’ll make you jump back to the anime Right Now. 🙂
    Btw, is there anything you would recommend now that I’m done with Monster?

  3. Nooo iurgnotmis don’t tempt me!! I already severely lack self-control when it comes to watching things..

    The ‘best’ three animes, in my opinion are (in this order) – Monster, Death Note, and Ouran High School Host Club. I’m pretty sure you’ve watched Death Note already (who hasn’t? :P) And if you watched Ouran too, then, lol I’m out of recommendations. The other animes I’ve watched are nowhere near as good as Monster.

    Buuuut… I heard 20th Century Boys (manga) is also very good – also a work of the ingenious Naoki Urasawa. And, have you read Another Monster yet?

  4. Im sure many of you are like me and one of the first things you do in the morning is head here and check out the new post. Along with seeing the new posts, I’m also always checking out the blog roll rss feed and watching them grow, or shrink sometimes. In one of my past …but all in all excellent site. Keep it up!

  5. Just wanted to drop you a line to say, I enjoy reading your site. I thought about starting a blog myself but don’t have the time.
    Oh well maybe one day…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

